The World Series of Sport Fishing was the brainchild of world-renowned photographer Hy Peskin in the late 1950s. Starting in early 1960, Peskin held the first event in Florida, and it combined both fresh and saltwater angling. World Class Anglers from all over the world were invited to participate. The next event would also be held in 1960 but would only be conducted in freshwater – as it remained for the following eight years.

There is little known about the event and how it got its start but we have been able to dig up the winners from the 1960 Freshwater Only event held in 1960 through the final event in 1968. As we dig up more information on the World Series of Sport Fishing, we will add it here.

World Series of Sportfishing Champions - 1960 to 1968
Harold EnsleyUnion Lake10/15-24/1960MI
Joe KriegerGrand Lake of the Cherokee10/23-28/1961OK
Virgil WardGrand Lake, Eucha Lake, Illinois River, Tenkiller Lake, Fort Gibson Lake10/15-19/1962OK
Ken WhiteBull Shoals10/27 - 11/1, 1963AR
Dave JadwinBull Shoals10/20-24/1964AR
Glen AndrewsLake Tawakoni10/23-27/1965TX
Glen AndrewsLake Eufaula10/22-23/1966OK
Dwight KeeferLong Lake1967WI
Bill DillonLake Texoma1968TX